The Fair Housing Act protects your rights as a homebuyer.

 As you shop for a mortgage and move through the mortgage process, no one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status or national origin:

  • Refuse to make a mortgage loan
  • Refuse to provide information regarding loans
  • Impose different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points (which are a one-time fee from the lender and equals 1% of the loan) or other fees*
  • Discriminate in appraising property
  • Refuse to purchase a loan
  • Set different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan

*Predatory mortgage lending typically includes excessive or unnecessary loan fees. It often targets emerging-market communities including minorities, lower-income families and people with nontraditional, weak or blemished credit records. This practice drains wealth from families and communities, destroys the benefits of homeownership and often leads to foreclosure. Ask your lender about its fair housing and anti-predatory lending policies. If you feel your rights have been violated, contact:

US Department of Housing and Urban Development
Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity
451 7th St., SW
Washington, DC 20410-2000
Phone: 1-800-669-9777
Fax: (202) 708-1425
TTY: 1-800-927-9275

For details about the Fair Housing Act, go to the HUD website.

We use cookies on this site to enhance your experience. By continuing to use this site you agree with our use of cookies.    Privacy Policy    accept